RE-FRESH Director Anna Peeters has joined a community of esteemed Deakin University academics after being bestowed the title of Alfred Deakin Professor at a ceremony at the university’s Geelong Waterfront campus on Tuesday, February 14.

The public health researcher, who is also the Director of the Institute for Health Transformation at Deakin University, was among just 10 university academics to receive the honour.

The Alfred Deakin Professor title recognises a professor’s significant and sustained contribution to Deakin University. It considers their national or international academic reputation, exceptional teaching or research, outstanding achievements, and service to professional or public life.

Anna said she greatly appreciated the honour.

“I would like to take the opportunity to thank all those involved in my leadership journey, and particularly all the Institute for Health Transformation members and my research team who have contributed so much to our collective impact.”

Deakin Vice-Chancellor Professor Iain Martin congratulated all recipients of the accolade.

“We are delighted to recognise the exceptional achievements of these staff by honouring them with the title of Alfred Deakin Professor,” he said.

“This is a well-deserved, important acknowledgement of their outstanding contributions and commitment to the university.

“Deakin University is proud of the accomplishments and dedication of all Alfred Deakin Professors in their respective fields of expertise.”

Anna is a Professor of Epidemiology and Equity in Public Health who is particularly interested in the provision of information to facilitate objective and equitable choices in public health and health policy by policy makers, practitioners and the public.

She sits on several national and international policy and research advisory groups, including for the World Cancer Research Fund, speaks regularly to the media and publishes in The Conversation.

Previous recognition of her work includes being awarded the prestigious World Obesity Federation Andre Mayer Award in 2014 and a Churchill Award for improving the equity of population prevention initiatives in the same year.

  • Follow Anna on Twitter – @AnnaPeetersAus and via Institute for Health Transformation @IHT_Deakin and RE-FRESH Twitter @h_food_retail


Alfred Deakin Professor Anna Peeters’ Career highlights:

  • World Obesity Federation Andre Mayer Award, 2014
  • Churchill Award, 2014.
  • NHMRC Career Development Fellowship 2013-2017.
  • VicHealth Fellowship 2004-2012

More about Alfred Deakin Professor Anna Peeters



RE-FRESH Director Alfred Deakin Professor Anna Peeters named in 2023 King’s Birthday Honours List


To receive updates on our projects, publications and resources please sign up to our newsletter.